April 27, 2010

  • So we had our final walk-thru this afternoon.  As of tomorrow we no longer own this house.  Many of you know how much work we have put into it.  It started with a blank slate and now holds a piece of us.  Thankfully the buyer loves this house too and I believe she will be taking good care of it.  Not that it matters, since it will no longer be ours, but it does.  I hate to see someone work so much on their house and then the next person to live in it lets it go. 

    They were here for 30 minutes tonight and my stomach started to get knots in it while I sat down the street in my car waiting for them to leave.  I thought for sure that they found something wrong..or worse found the mouse who snuck into my house today( More on that in a bit). But when they left I found a nice note telling us how lovely everything looked and that the new owner-to-be would like to know everything we do to maintain our home.  So that was nice.  I figure it was such a nice day that the realtor and buyer sat out on the back patio, shooting the bull...that is why it took so long! LOL

    So the mouse that is in my house...  This morning Jake is watching TV before school and I am on the computer and Jake says " Mommy, there is a mouse in our house."  I thought he was talking about something on the TV because he was so calm so I ignored it.  Jake said it again and told me to come and look.  So I did, as I walk around the corner I see something move across the hall and it either went into my room or the laundry room.  God, how I hope it is in the laundry room and we just can't find it.  Bob set traps but I do not want to step foot into my bedroom until it is found.  It will probably be a long night for me! I screamed bloody murder when I saw it move, it was fast so I did not get a good look at it but I am sure it was something. Bob was asleep and jumped out of bed.  Poor guy, I gave him a heart attack.  He couldn't go back to sleep after that.  So it has been a long day for him since he won't be home from work until after midnight.  Bob thinks we will find the little booger when we move...GREEAAAATTTT!

    So tomorrow we close on the house.  Although things are rough all over the country housing wise, we were fortunate to have 3 offers  6 days after putting it up for sale and it was a dream come true offer.  No one was trying to get a great deal, so it worked in our favor.  Plus we are getting a nice profit off of the sale.  I hated paying a realtor to do this but we were so nervous about selling because houses just don't seem to be moving quickly in the area so I figured we would still be trying to sell the house.  I am so thankful that we are not going to have to worry about selling this house. 

    Now we have to start preparing for the move....three more weeks and the movers come and then two weeks later we will be moving away. WOW!!! This is something I have been wanting for a long time, to move away from here but now after 4+ years it is a bittersweet ending...NO, I did not say I will miss it here...but I will be leaving with some great memories and friendships in my heart.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories