Month: October 2009

  • Jacob's artistic abilities are not, how do you put it, up to par for a 5 year old? 
    Maybe it is because he is  a boy and truly has no desire to color or draw pictures.
     He never has.
     So he is not going to be the next Van Gogh.
    Usually when he draws something I need him to explain what it is to me. 
    I know that is normal for his age. 
    Today this came home from school:

    image-1
    This is a proud moment for me. 
    I could tell it was a train with passengers on it.
    Hopefully, you could tell it too.
    The details in this picture are pretty amazing for him.
    Definitely a proud moment for me.
    God, I love this kid!
  • Is this not the cutest soccer player ever?
    image-1

    We have one more soccer game left this season.  It is on Halloween.  This year has been the best for Jake. 
    The coaches have so much patience with the kids and the practices are so well organized.  Jake is enjoying it and he has really improved this soccer season.

    Bob's Aunt Patty and Uncle Mike will be here visiting this coming weekend so they will get to go to his game.  I think Jake will enjoy that since we are the only ones who go there to watch him.  It will be a nice change.

    This week will be very busy.  I sub tomorrow and Wednesday. Tuesday is also Jakes' Soccer party where he will get his trophy for the season. Thursday is Jake's class field trip to the May Farm.  They are studying all about farms this past month so this will be a nice ending to the unit.  Aunt Patty and Uncle Mike also arrive that night.  We can not wait to see them.  Friday is the Fall Fest party in Jake's class room, I am one of the room mom's so we have been busy planning and preparing for that.  Saturday is the soccer game and then of course Halloween.

    What a nightmare it has been to get a costume together for Jake.  First he was going to be Wall-E.  Had the whole costume planned, how to make it and his friend Gracee was going to be Eva. It was going to be super cute.  I came up with the idea, Jake never really showed an interest in what he wanted to be, until last week!  He informs me he wanted to be a dinosaur, a T-Rex to be exact.  Since I had not started on the Wall-E costume and Bob said "This is the first time Jake has ever come up with what he wanted to be, so let him be a dinosaur." We went with it.  I was going to make it, but do you know how hard it is to find green sweats?  I looked on E-Bay because I was not paying 40 dollars for a costume, and found a cute dinosaur costume for 5 dollars.  Ordered it.  The lady said it would fit children 4 to 6 so I figured that would be perfect.  It arrives and it is a size 4T...no where did she mention that in her E-bay sale.  Needless to say, I was not happy and neither was Jake.  So we go on a dinosaur hunt around town.  No costume.  Tell Jake he needs to come up with another idea.  First he wants to be a Star Wars character.  He has no idea about Star Wars, only knows that Matthew likes it so if he likes he then it must be okay.  No, think of something else....Snoopy, Charlie Brown, an Oreo Cookie?  No.  Finally he decides to be a train conductor...imagine that.
    So I go on the hunt for denim overalls.  Walmart, Target, JCPenney, Children's Place, Old Navy...no luck. Go to the Tractor Supply store...two pairs, one is a size three and one is a size six.  I take the size 6.  Cost $20.  I am fine with this and happy that I found them.  Go up to the register and talk with the cashier...tell him the whole story.  He tells me he is going to make my day even better because the overalls are ringing up at $1.99!  YES, YOU READ THAT CORRECTLY... one dollar and ninety-nine cents.  I told the guy that he made my day and that I was so happy I could kiss him!  He laughed and said, "Now how would I explain that one...this lady in line just leaned over and kissed me." HA!  I love a good bargain like that.  So now Jake's costume is almost ready and he will looks so cute on Halloween!

    Well I am off to make my friend Lisa's delicious Potato Soup.  Perfect weather for it...a brisk 54 degrees out.  Think we might even be able to have a fire in the fire place tonight.  I love this weather!
  • I was right, Jake is the next Einstein...okay maybe not the next one, but I was very please with what his teacher had to say and what we saw of his work.  I have to admit I was a little nervous.  I was waiting for her to tell me he needed to go to his doctor for a check up...that means in not so many terms...he needs meds.  But that was never mentioned.  YEAH!!!

    She gave him some reading test that Texas requires them to do three times a year.  He scored very well, one of the top in his class.  YEAH JAKE!  She showed us his journal and we were shocked.  He is actually drawing pictures and trying to write words with it.  I have never seen that.  He is growing so fast and learning so much.  I love seeing it happen! Even his talking all the time is improving! The only thing that was said, which we already knew, was that he is dramatic, he is a little immature (most boys are, and that will develop as he gets older, hopefully sooner than later), and he needs to be a little more better about keeping his things in one place, not all over the table and on the floor.  So those are things we can work on.  I am so proud of him.  He is an awesome kid, and I am so glad that he is mine.

    Tomorrow I have to sub at his school and it is picture day.  He is not going to like what he has to wear, church clothes, but I want him to look good.  He will want to wear his school shirt since it is Friday, but he can live without it for a day.  Well off to straighten up the house and watch General Hospital!

  • Been busy, as usual.  Subbing some at Jake's school and at another school for a friend.  I am beginning to want to go back to teaching, but we have had that discussion so I will not repeat myself.

    Jake is playing soccer this fall.  He is on the Transformers.  I have seen a huge improvement in his ability this year.  He is actually getting it.  He even made a goal at the last game.  Of course I wasn't there to see it.  He has a fantastic coach and an assistant coach.  They just have it together, there is a plan, or at least it appears that way, of what the kids are going to work on during practice.  I am very pleased with it.  Jake is enjoying it, although there are times when he says he does not want to do soccer, but I think that is when he is to tired, like right before practice.  Kindergarten wears him out and then to have to go to practice a few hours later is hard for him.  But he is a trooper.

    Jake and Gracee got to decorate pumpkins with Mr./Miss Potato Head faces.  They turned out really cute.  Amy and I found the stuff at Target.  They had fun putting it together.  Here are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure:

    DSCN0686
    We are so ready for Halloween! Bob's aunt and uncle are coming to visit us that weekend.  Jake has his fall fest party at school, his last soccer game, and then trick-or-treating.  It will be a busy weekend, but full of lots of fun.  Jake is going to be Wall-E and Gracee is going to be Eve.  Amy and I are making their costumes.  I think what we have planned will turn out great. I hope so!  Pictures will be posted.

    Tomorrow Bob and I are meeting with Jacobs teacher for a conference to talk about how he is doing for the first six weeks.  This is standard practice here at the school.  I am sure she is going to tell me that he is so brillant that she suspects he will be the next Einstein, I am just sure of it!

Recent Posts

Categories