Month: June 2010

  • Today I have felt like blogging, so here I am.  We are starting to find our way around our new home.  So far we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it.  Of course it has only been 15 days but it has been a good start.  We are still living in TLF (Temporary Living Facilities aka base hotel) but tomorrow we get our house!  YEAH!!!!

    IMG_1371

    We are going to be living in military housing.  We have done it before but this time it is bigger and brand new!  No living in someone elses dirt. HA!  We won't actually stay there until Friday night because our household goods are not being delivered until then.  That is okay, we are near the end of this fun little adventure we have had.  We have been out of our beds since May 14th...I so can not wait to sleep in my own bed even with its permanent grooves from our bodies.  I can feel the relaxation now.  Not that queen size beds are anything to put your nose up to but once you have tried a King, you will never want to go back!

    New Jersey has been completely the opposite so far of what I thought.  When we drove into NJ we got lost in Trenton, big mistake.  Ended up in the wrong part.  The GPS was not cooperating.  Being in the "hood" so to speak, was my first impression of NJ...not necessarily a good one.  Then we got back on track and drove, and drove, and drove, down all these tree lined streets.  I kept thinking that this sure is far from the highway for a base to be located at.  Abilene is country living but McGuire is in the country.  It is out in the middle of no where.  There is no walmart, target, grocery store or nice shopping center with in the city that surrounds the base, if you can call it a city.  But if you drive 20 minutes away anything you are looking for is at your fingertips. So we have been out exploring, spending money, and enjoying life in NJ.

    I knew that NJ is known as the garden state but I always thought of this state as more industrial then farm land.  Well there are so many farmers markets here.  I love it.  Everything is so fresh and beautiful.  Can't wait to keep discovering these farms.  My friend that lives in Princeton has introduced us to one farm that is just awesome.  It is a pick your own farm with a little store on it and beautiful gardens and fields full of all sorts of crops.  They had a little lightning bug festival this pass weekend that was fun.  That is another thing there are festivals for everything here! YEAH US!

    IMG_1421

     

    IMG_1443

    Speaking of Princeton, that is only 30 minutes north of us.  What an awesome town.  Great shopping, great food.  So beautiful there.  When we drove around the campus I kept telling Jake that he needs to work really hard in school and earn a paid scholarship to come here one day for school.  His response was "Yeah, right mom."  A mother can dream.

    Well I just wanted to catch up with my few readers.  Hope all is well.  I try to check in when I can but I hope to do better soon.  Missing a lot of my blogging friends.  Take care!

  • We made it to New Jersey!  We have been here for a few days.  Getting ourselves oriented to our new surroundings.  Got a house on base.  Move in on the first.  Once I have my computer back I will be able to download some pictures of everything.  Promise to write more but wanted to let you know I am here and loving it!

Recent Posts

Categories